20 Locals honoured in Australia Day Awards

Twenty TWT Territory citizens have been awarded in this year’s Australia Day Order of Australia Honours List.


They include Professor Janice Reid AM who has been awarded the top honour of Companion of the Order of Australia (AC), two recipients of Officer (AO), seven Members (AM) and ten Order of Australia Medals (OAM).

They are:

OFFICER (AO) in General Division of Order of Australia Professor James Parick of Macquarie Centre and Dr Diane Brown of Drummoyne.


Professor Nihal Sing Agar, Lane Cove.
Associate Professor David Baines, Eastwood.
Janette McClelland, Henley.
George Negus, Balmain.
Dr Graeme Watts, Cabarita.
Farhat Yusuf. North Ryde.
Assoc Professor Kathi Nadanachandran, Beakfast Point.


June Beck, Hunters Hill.
Gwen Carpenter, Ryde.
David Forbes, Hunters Hill.
Brian & Carolyn Maher, West Ryde.
Fred O’Connor, North Epping.
Ken “Freckle” Paton, Dundas.
Eve Sheppard and late Guy Sheppard, Huntleys Cove.
Lorna Wright, Concord West.

Full details in this week’s The Weekly Times.