Australia Day Honours 2018: OAM


KEN BOCK of Carlingford for service to the community.

Service includes: Australia-Britain Society (NSW Branch): Treasurer, since 2006; President, 2010-2014; Trustee, Australia-Britain Society Foundation, since circa 2000. Life Member and Honorary Auditor, Friends of St George’s and the Descendants of the Knights of the Garter. Freemasons United Grand Lodge of NSW and ACT; Past Worshipful Master, 3 one-year terms, in three different lodges.

Former Public Officer/Secretary, Eastwood Masonic Centre. Holder of rank of Past Junior Grand Warden; Member, since 1962.

Anglican Parish of Epping (Epping Anglicans): Diocesan Reader, Sydney Diocese, for over 40 years; Past Parish Treasurer. St Aidan’s Anglican Church: Treasurer, since the late 1980s; Rector’s Warden, since 2013; Warden, since the late 1980s. Diocesan Reader, since 1975. Volunteer Announcer and Presenter, Radio 2RPH, for over 20

Amateur Performer, Castle Hill Players, since 1999 and Volunteer, current; Amateur Performer, Hunter’s Hill Players and Pymble Players.

SAM MUGAVERO of Ermington for service to the Italian community of NSW

Service includes: AGIRA Association of NSW (formerly the ‘La famiglia agirina’ Association); Founder, 1991; President, more than 10 years; Fundraiser Organiser, cultural trips to Italy.

Co-founder, Coordinamento Associazioni Siciliane of NSW (CAS), since 2001. (provides individual Sicilian associations the opportunity to join into a fellowship
with other associations): Trinacria Association: Co-founder, 1976; President, 2 years; Secretary, 20 years; Member, Support Committee, Amatrice Earthquake Appeal Committee (under the auspices of Co.As. It. NSW and Com.It.Es. NSW), since 2016. Founder and Editor, ‘Il Ficodindia’, since 1999. (a bi-monthly newsletter for the Italian community in Australia and overseas).

Author, articles for ‘La Fiamma’ (Italian newspaper), current.

Organises an International literary competition to promote the Italian/Sicilian language and heritage.Awards and recognition includes: Recipient, Co.As. It Medal, ‘for tireless services to the Italo-Australian community’, 2010.

MARILYN SINGER of Epping for service to people with Scleroderma.

Service includes: Scleroderma Association of NSW Inc: President, Secretary and Public Officer, current; Active Member, since 1992.

“I’m absolutely delighted and honoured to receive this award on behalf of The Scleroderma Association of NSW,” Ms Singer said.

“Scleroderma is an autoimmune connective tissue disease. It is an uncommon disease often hard to diagnose. This disease can have a devastating effect on those diagnosed. The Scleroderma Association of NSW holds support groups, awareness education and raises funds for research into Scleroderma.”

She currently holds these positions and is also Vice President of Scleroderma Australia.

“Over the past 20 years, hundreds of thousands of dollars have been raised towards medical research into Scleroderma by volunteers. This award is a tribute to all who have given so much time and talent over many years and continue to do so,” she said.

ELISABETH FLEMING of Carlingford for service to the community through social welfare organisations

Service includes: Wayside Chapel Crisis Centre: Coordinator, 2000-2008; Volunteer, 1992-1997. Volunteer, Mother’s and Children’s Unit, Emu Plains Corrective
Service Centre, since circa 2000; Volunteer, Streethearts, since circa 2008; Committee Member, Friends and Families of Missing Persons, for many years.

Dr FRIEDBERT KOHLER of Carlingford for service to rehabilitation medicine.

Service includes: South Western Sydney Local Health District: Director, Rehabilitation Medicine, Braeside, Liverpool and Fairfield Hospitals, since 2004.

Senior Rehabilitation Staff Specialist, current.

Clinical Stream Director Aged Care and Rehabilitation Services, since 2011.

Chair, Clinical and Quality Council, current.

Director Medical Services, Braeside Hospital, Hammond Care, since 2007; Director, Braeside Rehabilitation Research Group, current.

Conjoint Associate Professor, School of Public Health and Community Medicine, University of NSW, since 2009.

International Society of Prosthetics and Orthotics (ISPO): President, since 2017; Secretary, 2013-2015; National President, Australian Section, 2005-2011; Member, Editorial Board, ‘Prosthetics and Orthotics International’.