Australia Day Honours 2018: AM


MARK ANDERSON of Epping for significant service to secondary education in NSW through administrative and executive roles, and to educational standards.

Service includes:

NSW Department of Education: Director Public Schools NSW, The Hills, 2016-2017; Director, People and Careers, 2015; Acting Executive Director, People and Services, 2014-2015;

Director Staffing Services, 2013; Assistant Director Staffing Services, 2008-2013; School Education Director, Nirimba, 2005-2008.

Founding College Principal, Sydney Secondary College 2002 – 2004;

Principal, Davidson High School, 1997 – 2001; NSW Secondary Principals Council: Former Executive Member 2002-200;

Reference Group Leader, 2002-2004.

Member, Interim Committee for a NSW Institute of Teachers, 2002;

NSW Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards (now NSW Education Standards Authority): Former member, Teacher Education Policy Advisory Committee (TEPAC); Former member, Initial Teacher Education Committee (ITEC).

Executive Interchange Officer, Research Institute for Asia and the Pacific, University of Sydney, 1994.

GARTH BLAKE of Mortlake for significant service to the Anglican Church of Australia, particularly to child protection policy and professional standards, and to the law.

Service includes Anglican Church of Australia:

Member, General Synod since 1997; Member, Episcopal Ministry Task Force, 2010-2014 and 2017.

Chairperson, Professional Standards Commission, since 2005.

Chair, Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, Working Group, since 2012;

Member, Standing Committee Executive Committee, 2004-2014;

Chairperson, Clergy Discipline Working Group, 1998-2001;

Chairperson, Child Protection Committee, 2002-2005; Member, Sexual Abuse Working Group, 2002-2003.

International: Chair and instigator, Anglican Communion Safe Church Network, since 2012; Australian layperson representative, International Anglican Consultative Council, since 2012.

Member, Planning Committee, Second Conference, Safe Church Consultation, 2011; Chair and Chief Sponsor, Planning Committee, First Conference, Safe Church Consultation, 2008.

Chair, Anglican Communion Safe Church Commission, since 2017.

Ecumenical activities: Member, Safe Churches Planning Group Safe as Churches, Conferences, National Council of Churches in Australia, (NCCA), since 2003; Member, National Review Panel under Towards Healing, Catholic Church of Australia, since 2005.

Chairperson, Safe Place Adjudication Committee, Seventh-Day Adventist Church, since 2005; Member, Australian College of Theology Limited, since 2008; The Law: Barrister, since 1984 and Senior Counsel, since 2002, Eight Wentworth Chambers.

Editorial Board Member, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, since 2009.

ROXANNE McMURRAY of Balmain for significant service to community health as a leader and advocate of support programs and crisis centres for women.

Service includes: Leichhardt Women’s Community Health Centre:

Manager, since 2006; Operations Manager, 2003-2006;

Health Promotion Officer, 1998-2000; Communications Coordinator, NSW Women Partners of Bisexual Men, 2001-2006.

Detour House and The Girls Refuge:Chair, since 2011.

Member, Management Committee, since 2010.

Women’s Health NSW: Chair, 2008-2012; Deputy Chair, 2007-2008.

Convenor and Spokesperson, SOS Women’s Services, since 2014.

Awards and recognition includes: Member of Honour Roll, Women of the Year Awards, Office for Women, NSW Government, 2016.