Balmain Coppers JRLFC Reunion

A REUNION for ex-players, officials and supporters of Balmain Police Boys Junior Rugby League Club will be held on Saturday April 21 at Balmain Bowling Club from 1pm.

The Coppers – founded in 1938 – have a proud history in the Balmain Junior League. The sky blue and whites won Club Championship trophies in 1974-75-76 and ‘77 and over the years a large number of players graduated to  the Balmain grade ranks.

These included internationals Fred de Belin, Norm Pope, Jack Sinclair, Don Furner, Lloyd Martin, Wayne Pearce and Steve Roach and former Quensland rep Norm McLean.

Balmain Police Boys JRLFC disbanded in 1949 but re-formed in 1966 when ex-player Sgt George Stone was transferred to the club as Secretary- Supervisor.

George along with childhood friends Keith Aggett and Tony Angelini represented the Coppers as juniors and would later become top administrators.

Keith was a great stalwart of Ryde Eastwood Leagues Club while George (chairman) and Tony were long serving directors of Balmain Football & Leagues Clubs.

For further details on the reunion contact Frank Borg 0415 529 389 or Brad May 0430 343 089.