Inner West Citizens of the Year Awards

Dennis Laris of Ashfield and Sylvana Mahmic of Marrickville are the joint Inner West Council Citizens of the Year.

The Senior Citizen of the Year is Jan Muller, a volunteer for Newtown Neighbourhood Centre.

Logan Lee Tuaru, an Ashfield Boys High School Captain who is an active volunteer and mentor, is Inner West Council Young Citizen of the Year.

“These fine citizens make the inner west a better and more compassionate place,” said Inner West Council Administrator Richard Pearson.

“They all are making an enormous impact on Inner West Council residents – through volunteering, mentoring and lobbying for changes to public policy.

“Their achievements run the gamut of issues such as youth who have lost their way, the difficulties faced by families who have a child with a disability, and the deficiencies in the mental health system.

“They are assisting diverse communities including asylum seekers, LGBTIQ, primary school children transitioning to high school, and the aged.”

Mr Pearson noted this year was the first time the Inner West Council was conducting Citizen of the Year Awards. The winners were selected by a panel of former Mayors – Marrickville’s Sam Iskandar, Leichhardt’s Darcy Byrne, and Ashfield’s Lucille McKenna OAM – for the positive impacts they had made to their communities.

Others recognised were: Holly Goodwin, a local leader of the Australian Breastfeeding Association group, who was Highly Commended; David Griffiths, the man behind the Sydney Bus Museum in Leichhardt (previously in Tempe), was a Highly Commended Senior Citizen of the Year, as was Kerrie Bush, who worked tirelessly as an advocate for local business. Sinthu Santhirasegaram, who has been volunteering with the Asylum Seekers Centre in Newtown for two years, was Highly Commended.