Queen’s Birthday Honours 2017


CAROLE JOBLING of Rozelle for service to the community of Muswellbrook.

Service includes: Life Member, Muswellbrook Branch, The Australian Red Cross; Member and Patron, Muswellbrook Branch, Girl Guides Association; District Commissioner, Muswellbrook,ÊGirl Guides Association; Secretary, Castlereagh Probus Club, 2009-2011.

Liberal Party – NSW: Party Member, Balmain/Rozelle Branch, since 2005; Member, Liberal Women’s Council, since 1968.

Upper Hunter State Electorate Conference Secretary; Paterson Federal Electorate Conference Secretary; Committee Member and Archivist, Liberal Women’s Council.

* * *

NEVILLE POTTS of BeecroftÊfor service to architecture.

Service includes: Senior Director, Di Carlo Potts and Associates, Health Planning Architects, 1984-2005.

Fellow, Royal Australian Institute of Architects, since 1998.

* * *

DEEN SANDERS of HuntersÊHillÊfor service to public administration and to professional standards.

Service includes: Chief Executive Officer, Professional Standards Councils, since 2012; Chief Professional Officer, Financial Planning Association of Australia, 2006-2012; Director, The Why Corporation – Strategic Consulting, 2011-2012; Managing Director, 1994-2000.

General Manager, Financial Services Education Agency Australia, 2003-2006; Executive Director, Global Learning Advisory Services, 2003-2006; National Project Director, Financial Services, National Finance Industry Training Advisory Board, 2000-2003.

* * *

KAREN STEPHENSON (nee Moras) of Oatlands for service to swimming.

Elite Australian swimmer in the 1960s-1970s.

Achievements include: holder of three world records; bronze medal Mexico Olympic Games 1968; winner of three gold medals, Edinburgh Commonwealth Games, 1970; member of Australian Swimming Team, Munich Olympic Games, 1972.

Manager, Australian National Swimming Team, 2001-2004.

Inaugural Inductee, Sport Australia Hall of Fame, 1985; Board Director, 2000-2009.

Director, JD Oates Aquatic Centre, Presbyterian Ladies’ College (PLC), Sydney, current; Founding Member, PLC Swim Club.

Board Member, Sydney Cricket Group Trust, ‘for many years’.

WARWICK BRODSKY of Rozelle for service to the community, particularly toÊthe Australian Red Cross Blood Service.

* * *


GIUSEPPE MIGLIORINO of East Ryde for significant service to the Italian community, to multicultural and refugee settlement assistance groups, and through advisory roles.

Service includes: Italian Community: President, Co.As.lt (Italian Association of Assistance), 1999-2004; Convenor, Co.As.lt Italian Historical Society, 1996-1997; Treasurer, Italian Patronato INAS, since 2007.

Founding Member, Italian Bilingual School, 2002; Director, Italian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, 2002-2005;

Multicultural Community: Honorary Chief Executive Officer, Settlement Services International, since 2008; Honorary President, Federation of Ethnic Communities’ Councils of Australia, since 2013; Chair, 2009-2013; Inaugural Director, Migration Council of Australia, 2012; Founding Chair and Managing Director, Cultural Perspectives Group, since 1994;

Government Appointments include: Member, Council on Strategy and Innovation, Department of Human Services, since 2013.

Member, Minister’s Male Health Reference Group, Department of Health, since 2010; Member, National Consultative Committee on Ageing, 2010-2012.

Member, Multicultural Advisory Committee, NSW Police, since 2013.

Panel Member, Australian Government’s Multicultural Access and Equity Review, 2011.

Chairperson, NSW Ministerial Advisory Committee on Ageing, 2008-2011; Board Member, ICE – Information and Cultural Exchange, since 2015.

Board Member, National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters, since 2014.

Ambassador, SBS television network, since 2011.

Chairperson, National Cross Cultural Dementia Network, Alzheimer’s Australia, since 2010.

Chairperson, Multicultural Think Tank Advisory Committee, National Prescribing Service, 2007-2012.

Recipient, Award for Distinguished Service to Australian Immigration, Migration Institute of Australia, 2011.

Recipient, Commendatore (Knight Commander) all’Ordine della Stella della Solidarieta’ Italiana (Star of Italian Solidarity), Italian Government, 2009.

* * *

Associate Prof ANN BYE of Lane Cove for significant service to medicine in the field of paediatric neurology as a clinician, academic, and mentor.

Service includes: Head of Department, Paediatric Neurology, Sydney Children’s Hospital, Randwick, since 2012;

Founder, Paediatric Epilepsy Network, NSW, 2013.

Recipient, Michelle Beets Memorial Award, Humpty Dumpty Foundation, 2012.

* * *

PETER DE WAAL of Balmain for significant service to the community as a LGBTQI advocate and author, and through a range of volunteer roles.

* * *

Queens Birthday Honours 2017