Ryde Mayor Jerome Laxale has been re-elected and Cr Simon Zhou has been elected Deputy Mayor.

At an extraordinary meeting of Ryde Council last night, both were elected on one year terms through to the next NSW council elections on 12 September 2020.

“It is an absolute honour to have just been elected to serve for the third of three consecutive years as Mayor of the City of Ryde,” Mayor Laxale said.

“Over the next 12 months expect more action on the Environment, Parks and Playgrounds and fairness and equality. Also expect more dad jokes. Many more dad jokes.

“I’d like to thank my Ryde Labor colleagues for their unwavering support. I’ll have more to say about them tomorrow.

“Ryde remains Red for another year. I’ll be back to work tomorrow.”

Another ballot held last night saw Inner West Mayor Darcy Byrne re-elected for a one year term “with an increased majority”. Liberal councillor Vittoria Raciti was elected Deputy Mayor also for one year.

Mayor Byrne had been elected by council for a term of two years on 21 September 2017 and Vince Macri had been elected Deputy Mayor for a term of one year on 11 September 2018.

“I have just been re-elected as Mayor with an increased majority,” Mayor Byrne wrote on his Facebook Page after a special council meeting to decide the two roles was opened and closed in 15 minutes.

“When first elected two years ago our Local Labor team committed to making the new Council progressive and effective and that’s exactly what we have done.

“We have established the Inner West as national leader in renewable energy, the arts and culture and sport and recreation infrastructure. Now it’s time to accelerate our drive to make the Inner West the best local government in Australia.”

All council across NSW will face elections on Saturday, 12 September 2020

Upcoming elections

City of Parramatta Lord Mayor Andrew Wilson was elected for two years at a special council meeting on 25 September 2017. Michelle Garrard was elected Deputy Lord Mayor for one year at council’s 25 September 2018 meeting. The new Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor will be elected at council’s 23 September 2019 meeting on one year terms, covering the period until the NSW council elections on 12 September 2020*.

Lane Cove Council ​at its extraordinary meeting on 25 September 2017 elected Pam Palmer as Mayor for two years. At its ordinary council meeting of 17 September 2018, Scott Bennison was  elected Deputy Mayor for one year. It is expected to elect its next Mayor and Deputy Mayor for one year through to the 12 September 2020 NSW council elections at its ordinary meeting on 16 September 2019.

Hunters Hill and Canada Bay to elect their mayors by popular vote

Hunters Hill Council popularly elected Mark Bennett as its Mayor for three year term until the next NSW council elections of the Council on September 12, 2020. Ben Collins was elected Deputy Mayor for a one year term on 24 September 2018. The next Deputy Mayor is expected to be elected at Council’s ordinary meeting on 23 September 2019.   

Canada Bay popularly elected Angelo Tsirekas as its Mayor at the 2017 NSW council elections for a three year term until the next NSW council elections on September 12, 2020. Canada Bay will elect its next Deputy Mayor at an upcoming meeting TBC.